Updated October 2026

Best Employer of Record providers in Ethiopia

Fifteen providers that can employ staff in Ethiopia, ranked on Ethiopian presence, pricing, coverage, foreign-exchange handling, track record and support.

15Providers ranked
3Own an Ethiopian entity
Oct 26Last reviewed
Ethiopia is a partner-delivered market for almost every global platform — the leading local firm openly runs white-label EOR for international providers, so the platform you sign with and the entity that employs your staff are often different companies. Two other things to check: that payroll uses the current tax bands under Proclamation 1395/2025, with a 35% top rate above ETB 14,000; and how the provider handles foreign exchange, since salary remittance still depends on the contract specifying the currency component even after the 2026 liberalisation.
1

RemotePeople

Own Ethiopian entity; the lowest published rate
9.2out of 10

RemotePeople employs through its own Ethiopian entity — one of only three providers on this page that does — on contracts built to Labour Proclamation No. 1156/2019, with pension run at 11% and 7% through POESSA, severance handled to the statutory cap, and Amharic as the working language. It is the cheapest published option here, with a named account manager and 150+ countries on the same contract.

Strengths

  • Own Ethiopian legal entity
  • Contracts built to Labour Proclamation No. 1156/2019
  • Pension at 11% employer and 7% employee through POESSA, remitted within 30 days
  • Severance to the twelve-month cap, with the redundancy uplift
  • Amharic working language
  • From $199 per employee per month; named account manager; 150+ countries
  • SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001

Watch for

  • Ethiopian registration number not published
  • No Addis Ababa office
  • Smaller review base than the largest platforms
PricingFrom $199 per employee per month
EntityOwn Ethiopian entity
Coverage150+ countries
ReviewsG2 4.7 (454)
2

LonAdd Consultancy PLC

Ethiopian; Addis Ababa; founded 2009
8.9out of 10

The most substantial local EOR in Ethiopia. LonAdd has operated from Addis Ababa since 2009 with EOR as its flagship service, is ISO 9001 certified and a named top taxpayer, and has processed 70,000+ applications for 200+ organisations including the Embassy of Ireland, KfW, Syngenta and OCP Africa. It also runs white-label EOR for international platforms — if you buy Ethiopia through a global provider, there is a fair chance LonAdd is doing the work.

Strengths

  • Own Ethiopian entity; EOR is its flagship service
  • Seventeen years in Addis Ababa
  • ISO 9001:2015; named top taxpayer
  • 200+ organisations served, with named institutional clients
  • White-labels EOR for international platforms

Watch for

  • No published pricing
  • Ethiopia only
  • No independent review platform presence
PricingQuote only
EntityOwn Ethiopian entity
BaseAddis Ababa
Founded2009
3

Deel

The largest EOR in the world; 150+ countries
8.6out of 10

The biggest provider in the category — valued at $17.3bn, over $1bn in revenue, 35,000+ customers, 250+ in-house experts — with a published flat price and a review base roughly ten times anyone else’s. Ethiopia is covered within its 150-country footprint.

Strengths

  • $599 per employee per month, published
  • 150+ countries and 120+ owned entities
  • 250+ in-house compliance experts
  • Trustpilot 4.6 across 9,581; G2 4.8

Watch for

  • Does not disclose whether Ethiopia sits on an owned entity
  • Among the more expensive options here
  • No local office
Pricing$599 per employee per month
EntityNot disclosed for Ethiopia
Coverage150+ countries
ReviewsTrustpilot 4.6 (9,581)
4

Africa HR Solutions

Mauritius; 51% owned by JSE-listed ADvTECH
8.3out of 10

A regional African specialist covering Ethiopia within a 46+ country footprint, ISO 27001 certified and majority-owned by a JSE-listed group. EOR and PEO both offered.

Strengths

  • EOR and PEO across 46+ African countries
  • Majority-owned by JSE-listed ADvTECH; ISO 27001
  • Established 2011

Watch for

  • No published pricing
  • Ethiopia is partner-delivered
  • No Ethiopian office
PricingQuote only
EntityPartner-delivered
BaseMauritius
Coverage46+ African countries
5

SARIA Consultancy PLC

Ethiopian; Addis Ababa; founded 2016
8out of 10

A registered Addis Ababa firm offering employer of record alongside payroll, pension, insurance and tax compliance, with named clients including Saint-Gobain Weber, SGS, AIDS Healthcare Foundation and Education Development Trust.

Strengths

  • Own Ethiopian entity
  • EOR with payroll, pension, insurance and tax compliance
  • Named institutional clients
  • Published Addis Ababa office

Watch for

  • No published pricing
  • Ethiopia only
  • Smaller and less established than LonAdd; no independent reviews
PricingQuote only
EntityOwn Ethiopian entity
BaseAddis Ababa
Founded2016
6

Globalization Partners (G-P)

Large global brand; light Ethiopian presence
7.7out of 10

One of the biggest names in the category with 180+ countries and 100+ owned entities. Ethiopia is a market it covers rather than one it has built out.

Strengths

  • 180+ countries, 100+ owned entities
  • Established enterprise brand
  • G2 4.4 across 965

Watch for

  • No published Ethiopia pricing
  • Ethiopia is partner-delivered
  • No Ethiopian office
PricingQuote only
EntityPartner-delivered
Coverage180+ countries
ReviewsG2 4.4 (965)
7

Pebl

Formerly Velocity Global; 185+ countries
7.4out of 10

The largest and best-capitalised global platform on this page, employing across 185+ markets on its own entity infrastructure with compliance vetted by Baker McKenzie and an enterprise track record built under the Velocity Global name. Ethiopia is one line in a very large programme.

Strengths

  • 185+ countries on owned entity infrastructure
  • Compliance vetted by Baker McKenzie
  • Published global rate of $399 per employee per month
  • G2 4.7

Watch for

  • Ethiopia pricing confirmed at quote
  • No local office
  • Rebranded in 2025, so older reviews sit under the former name
Pricing$399 globally; Ethiopia at quote
EntityOwned infrastructure
Coverage185+ countries
ReviewsG2 4.7
8

Safeguard Global

UK company; 187 countries; EOR since 2010
7.1out of 10

Founded in 2008 and running EOR since 2010, Safeguard covers more countries than any provider here, with 400+ in-country experts and strong enterprise multi-country programmes. It sold its enterprise payroll division to Deel in 2025 and now runs on Deel technology under agreement. Ethiopia is covered within its 187-country footprint.

Strengths

  • 187 countries with 400+ in-country experts
  • Sixteen years of EOR operation
  • Strong on multi-country enterprise programmes
  • Growth-equity backed by Accel-KKR

Watch for

  • No published pricing
  • Owned-entity count not published; Ethiopia status not disclosed
  • Onboarding of about two weeks
  • Trustpilot 4.0 (31); G2 4.3 (131)
PricingQuote only
EntityNot disclosed for Ethiopia
Coverage187 countries
ReviewsG2 4.3 (131)
9

Mauve Group

Long-established; delivers through local partners
6.8out of 10

A long-established UK and Cyprus global employment group with decades of history, delivering in Ethiopia through expert local partners — and, unusually, open about that.

Strengths

  • Decades of global employment history
  • Transparent about its partner model
  • Nationals and expatriates covered

Watch for

  • No published pricing
  • Partner-delivered, with the partner unnamed
  • No Ethiopian office
PricingQuote only
EntityLocal partners
BaseUK and Cyprus
CoverageGlobal
10

Atlas

160+ countries; dedicated HR consultant per employee
6.5out of 10

A US global platform covering 160+ countries on owned entities, with a dedicated HR Employee Relationship Consultant assigned to every worksite employee — the strongest stated support model of any global provider. Ethiopia is covered within that footprint, with no regional office nearer than Asia.

Strengths

  • Dedicated HR consultant for every employee
  • 160+ countries on owned entities
  • From $599 per employee per month; $399 NGO rate

Watch for

  • No African office; nearest regional offices are in Asia
  • Statutory employer costs billed under a separate, unpublished rate
  • No funding since 2022; Trustpilot 2.9 from two reviews
PricingFrom $599 per employee per month
EntityOwned, per Atlas
Coverage160+ countries
ReviewsG2 4.2 (94)
11

Multiplier

Strong Ethiopian payroll mechanics; 150+ countries
6.2out of 10

A large, well-funded global platform with unusually careful Ethiopian handling — pension to the ETB 15,000 contribution cap, POESSA filing on deadline, and the one-to-ten foreign-to-local staffing ratio that catches out companies bringing in expatriates.

Strengths

  • Pension handled to the ETB 15,000 cap with POESSA filing
  • Foreign-to-local staffing ratio managed
  • 150+ countries
  • Well-funded platform

Watch for

  • No published Ethiopia pricing
  • Ethiopia is partner-delivered
  • No Ethiopian office
PricingQuote only
EntityPartner-delivered
Coverage150+ countries
BaseSingapore
12

Playroll

Transparent pricing; current tax bands
5.9out of 10

A global platform with African operational roots, transparent pricing and payroll on the current 35% top rate under the 2025 amendment. A sound choice for a company already on Playroll elsewhere on the continent.

Strengths

  • From $399 per employee per month, published
  • Payroll on the current tax bands
  • 180+ countries with a South African hub
  • G2 4.7 across 244

Watch for

  • Ethiopia is partner-delivered
  • Trustpilot 3.1 overall
  • No Ethiopian office
PricingFrom $399 per employee per month
EntityPartner-delivered
Coverage180+ countries
ReviewsG2 4.7 (244)
13

Rivermate

Consolidator; broad published price range
5.6out of 10

A growing platform that has absorbed Eos, Serviap and Hightekers, with transparent pricing across a wide band and a French-language service useful across a broader African footprint.

Strengths

  • From $319 per employee per month, published
  • French-language service
  • Broad coverage after several acquisitions

Watch for

  • Ethiopia is partner-delivered
  • Price band runs to $639
  • No Ethiopian office
Pricing$319–$639 per employee per month
EntityPartner-delivered
LanguageEnglish and French
BaseNetherlands
14

Gloroots

Cheapest transparent option after RemotePeople
5.3out of 10

A lean global platform with a low published price and payroll on the current Ethiopian tax bands.

Strengths

  • From $199 per employee per month, published
  • Payroll on the current 35% top rate and ETB 14,000 threshold

Watch for

  • Ethiopia is partner-delivered
  • Thin independent review evidence
  • No Ethiopian office
PricingFrom $199 per employee per month
EntityPartner-delivered
CoverageGlobal
ReviewsLimited
15

Papaya Global

Global payroll and EOR platform; 160+ countries
5out of 10

An Israeli-founded, well-funded global payroll and payments platform that delivers EOR in 160+ countries through in-country partners, with strong payments infrastructure and consolidated multi-country reporting. Ethiopia is covered through a local partner.

Strengths

  • 160+ countries
  • Strong payments and multi-currency infrastructure
  • Consolidated multi-country reporting
  • Well-funded, enterprise-oriented

Watch for

  • Ethiopia is partner-delivered
  • No published pricing
  • No local office
PricingQuote only
EntityPartner-delivered
Coverage160+ countries
BaseIsrael / US

How we scored Ethiopia

Ranked on Ethiopian presence, published pricing, country coverage, foreign-exchange capability, years operating, scale, support model and independent evidence. Owned Ethiopian entities are weighted heavily because they are rare.

Pricing and corporate facts as published by each provider in October 2026. Pension contributions are 11% employer and 7% employee through POESSA. Ethiopia has no national private-sector minimum wage. Remote offers contractor management only in Ethiopia and does not appear here.